Sunday, January 16, 2011


Spider comprise a large, widespread group of carnivorous arthropods. They have eight legs and can produce silk, and most have poison glands associated with fangs. There are more than 30,000 species of spiders are found on every continent except Antartica in almost every kind of terrestrial habitat and a few aquatic ones as well. Spiders range in body size from about 0.5 mm to 9 cm.

Spiders constitute the order Araneae (class Arachnida), which is usually divided into 2 suborders. The suborder Orthognatha, or mygalomorph spiders has about 12 families and includes the trap door spiders, family Ctenizidae, and the large tarantulas, family Theraphosidae. The suborder Labidognatha or araceomorphs with about 60 families, contains the true spiders and includes most of the familiar ones. Among the major families are those which capture prey in webs, Araneidae, or orb weavers; Theridiidae, which capture prey that lands on their sheet webs - and those which hunt - lycosidae, or wolf spiders, mostly nocturnal; saiticidae, or jumping spiders, diurnal with excellent eyesight, and Thomisidae, or crab spiders.

Other Spiders:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Write your commend here, you can create back link here.